Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 224

    Museum and art gallery

    May 6, 2023 in Australia ⋅ ☁️ 30 °C

    Darwin is unusual in that the art gallery and museum is housed in the same building, it is the same thing. It made for a rather disjointed visit.

    The first gallery was a hallway on natural history. Then at the end was a collection of aboriginal art which led to an exhibition on cyclone Tracey that distorted Darwin completed on christmas day 1974. Then it was into another natural history exhibit on animals of all kinds, before finally on the progress aboriginal communities have made.

    It was a very odd experience. Every exhibit was so different and the space between just a doorway or short corridor. I did not spend very long here either. I've seen enough art these last few months and I've been to the British natural history museum which is far better. However I did spend a while in the cyclone Tracy section. This is history unique to Darwin and even today something that everyone talks about. Learning about it was interesting, with winds over 200kmh, it was destructive and took out most of the city. A key feature in its history.

    After the gallery I continued my route down the coast following the sounds of music as I went.
    Read more