Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 225

    Leaving Darwin

    May 7, 2023 in Australia

    As I'm sure you have noted from my tone, I haven't had a great time in Darwin. Unfortunately the city isnt really catered to budget backpackers. There is little to do unless you are willing to spend a couple hundred on a day trip out of the city. The city itself is rather dull.

    I spent today in the hostel and will be glad to leave this place. The music has left me with a perpetual headache the last few days. Loud and bass, it blasts from 2pm until 10pm. With 9am-2pm, and 10pm-2am, it only a little quiter.

    I have also realised I am sick of the heat. I have been hot for nearly 3 months and I'm done now. I'm looking forward to being in autumn/winter, just for a change. I'm sure I will regret saying so in a week or two, or once its properly cold, but I'm tired of shorts. I want to wear my hoodie and snuggle up in bed all warm and toasty. I dont want to sweat at 3am cause it's still 25°+.

    Anyways, I finished my book today. Kiss Me First, is slightly outdated as it is about technology and was written a decade ago but I loved it. Highly recommend as it has an unreliable unlikable narrator and is written like the MC is writing this all down on a word document. It was great.

    The second book not so much. It is a dystopian book when the characters go camping and come back to find that war has broken out. I think it could be great, but I literally just finished one where the characters go camping and a disease breaks out. That one was more on the technical survival skills side of things, plus questions around morality and law when the world is in anarchy. This one was set with all 16/17 year olds, and no leadership character and the writing just felt rather dull. So after reading it in the hostel, I decided to leave it there hene I left. I got a good 150pages in, but I didnt care enough to pack it.

    Anyways, my flight is a 00,35 which is less than ideal but there we go. The shuttle finished running at 6pm so I got the final shuttle to the airport and now get to sit and wait for my bag check in before I can go airside and wait there. This is another two flights, one to Melbourne then onto Sydney. Then its Sydney to canberra. Far from ideal but this is what happens with budget travel. You choose the cheapest options and sometimes once it's time to go you change your mind and go elsewhere.
    Read more