Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 224

    Nature and royalty

    May 6, 2023 in Australia ⋅ ⛅ 33 °C

    I finally found the source of the music, an amphitheatre connected to the city's botanical gardens. Having intended to visit the gardens today, I was glad of the coincidence. What was happening in the theater I couldn't tell you, guards gave me the look when I came to investigate so I left.

    The botanical gardens are small but nice. I had expected them to be better care for. There were many signs warning of things broken or even 'hazardous waste' at one point, which was not the best. I imagine, as with all gardens, spring is the time to visit. The gardens definitely looked like they were on the turn and the waterfall was far from impressive. It was supposed to be quite a draw but it was little more than a trickle being artificially fed and concrete forming a dirty pond beneath.

    After walking around it was midday and very warm so I sat for a while in the shade and read. I was there for quite a while, struggling to muster the energy to move again in the heat. Finay I succeeded and walked back. I had intended to visit the port but a quick google told me it was pointless and as it was 20 minutes out of my way, I chose to walk past the turning.

    Back in the hostel I enjoyed the aircon and talked with an american girl in my room. Then I headed to the common area to use the wifi and watched the coronation. It was playing on the tv in the comon area but I could not turn the subtitles on so soon got it open on my phone. BBC news app was struggling with the dreadful wifi but made it through the entire thing only crashing 6ish times.

    I was continuing my book for the first parts while everyone was arriving then switched to paying more attention when things started getting under way. Being 8.5hrs ahead, it was around 7pm things started getting interesting. It was fun watching the viewing stats as the morning when on. It peaked around 520,000 about 5 mins before he got the crown on his head.

    The American girl I spoke to earlier joined me to eat and then ended up staying to watch with me. She knew next to nothing about the royals and found all the pageantry interesting if a little excessive. A view point I think many share in one way or another. We finally retired when my phone died during the procession, by which point it was almost 10pm and the music had finally quieted down enough to try and sleep.
    Read more