Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 226

    I love flying

    May 8, 2023 in Australia ⋅ 🌬 10 °C

    That is a lie.

    So my flight from Darwin leaves a few minutes late. That's no big deal, hardly the worst thing that could happen. I manage to sleep through almost the entire flight. I'm exhausted when we land wondering how I might stay awake. And then i got a text.

    My flight from Melbourne to Sydney was cancelled, i have been rescheduled to 5.30pm.

    The adrenaline that hit jolted me awake immediately. I literally run of the plane because at this point, I think it means 5,30am. And it is currently 5,25am. You can see why I was stressed and confused.

    I immediately find a uniformed person and she manages to spot the 'pm' I had missed. Relief turns into horror as I know that no busses leave Sydney for Canberra after 7pm, which is before my flight would arrive. Meaning I would be stuck in Sydney, and loose my bus fare and my accommodation for those two nights.

    I half run to another less busy desk and practically begged the attendant to help me in any way possible. Thankfully, she managed to find one at midday. Not ideal as I still loose my bus fare and have to buy a new one but at least I get to my accommodation for the night.

    Unfortunately, that flight meant I had to pick up my bag and recheck in. The service agents were highly confused why but thankfully called a guy in baggage. They told me he'd take 10/15 minutes, the dude took 2. I bloody love this man. I manage to check my bag back in and get through security in record time. Now I just have to wait for a few hours before boarding.

    The entire situation has forced me awake to the point where I am wired. So guess my 4hrs are going to have to be enough tonight. I'm really looking forward to being in one place for a bit. One more week of travel then I stop for 4 weeks.

    I got food in Melbourne. Today will end up being more expensive than I wanted but right now, do I care? No. I'm so tired and need a break. Also, when I said I wanted to be cold yesterday, I already regret it. It is 8° in Melbourne and after no sleep I am freezing.

    As I was waiting I watched them unload a couple puppies from the plan. There was one that looked so happy to be off of the plane and was hoping in its cage.

    I arrived in Sydney eventually and managed to get the coach an hour earlier than the one I had rebooked for which is good because I am so done now. I just want to lie in bed and cry about the money I have lost today cause of bloody flights.
    Read more