Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 241

    Finally surfing

    May 23, 2023 in Australia ⋅ 🌙 17 °C

    I woke pretty early before work and enjoyed the morning rays warming me up. Work was fine.

    After I spoke to Amelia, a long termer in the hostel and also the one with a car. She was going surfing with Jack, another volunteer. I decided it was finally time I went surfing.

    The board I got was a lot thinner than the one I am used to and I didnt enjoy it so much. Couldn't find the balance on the different size board. But got there eventually and enjoyed riding the weaker waves in. The waves were either really weak and tiny or massive today, no in between. But we had fun regardless and thanks to wetsuits werent cold.

    Back at the hostel I changed and grabbed my cvs. I found out this morning that after all of my work with the paperwork and getting my vaccine done, I cannot get the job. I had to do a final check and I dont have the correct paperwork to do that check. You have to have Australian papers, foreign ones arent excepted. Sometime there are exemptions but I dont qualify for those so I cannot get the job.

    So I hit the town once more and handed my cv into a few restaurants and bars in town. Noone is really hiring currently as it is winter but hopefully something will happen.

    I decided to stay out and watched the sunset again. Read my book for a bit while it went down before I got too cold and went back to the hostel. The sunsets here are nice but without any clouds in the sky, they lack some of the usual pinks and purples.
    Read more