Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 247

    A goodbye

    May 29, 2023 in Australia ⋅ ☀️ 21 °C

    Today was just not a great day.

    I ended up working in the white house which is a house on the hostel property but not apart of the hostel. They are currently renovating this house and are using the free labour which is fair to be honest but I ended up in the kitchen. Who ever left the house last, did not clean up after themselves. There was food everywhere and the fridge, as I took photos of, is disgusting. There was a large amount of food just left, which was all out of date and various stages of decay. It was not fun to clean and I did not enjoy it.

    After I had some lunch which did end up being very nice and then I spent the afternoon just reading and relaxing. I seem to be finding that I'm not doing much except relaxing which I quite enjoy.

    Unfortunately I did receive an email from the cafe I have done a trial for on Friday revoking the offer so that was less than ideal and I have not heard from the hotel either.

    In the afternoon, I went down to the hotel to ask what was going on and apparently he has been in meetings all weekend. He will supposedly contact me when he gets the next opportunity but they don't know when that's going to be. I am not holding out much hope.

    We went for another walk down to see the sunset this evening as it was Camilla's last day. She is returning to Sunshine Coast where she is living and will then be taking a flight to the middle of nowhere to work in the mines for 2 weeks. I knew she was not staying for long, and I have really enjoyed hanging out with her and will be thoroughly bored now that she is gone and noone is willing to come on walks with me all the time.
    Read more