Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 351

    Highlights #3

    September 10, 2023 in Australia ⋅ 🌙 10 °C

    Another highlights post, its getting a little repetitive now!

    My time in Port has consisted not in a small part by work. Papa Feta is my first stint working in a small restaurant and it was Greek. Initially a bit of a learning curve but overall one of my favourite places to have worked. The boss was honestly one of the loveliest people and the team there is great. Did I want to kill him at least once a week, yes. But he is the sort of person that it is impossible to stay mad at. At the end of every shift I got a Souvlaki rolled into a Gyros style dinner. Top tier, and even after 3 months of eating it at least 3 times a week, still amazing.

    Another key feature of my time was my trips to the Pancake place. This place had dreadfully slow waiting service but the food was peak. I tried both savoury and sweet pancakes in my visits and all were highly recommendable.

    My monthly book clubs were am odd addition to my time but some of the best mornings. Our group was small and I was by far the youngest but it was still a great time. Of the 4 books we read, I only liked one but the act of doing the book club was still great. We had our meetings next to the Koala hospital so I also got regular visits to these cuties.

    When I left Port, Sarah gave me a little present. This key chain is the cutest. I currently have it in my bag and will be putting it on my keys when I return. A little momento from my time living at Aussi Pozzie. I shall miss Sarah greatly.

    On my final evening in Port I went for dinner at Papa Frta and tried all the food I have been serving for months. The food was incredible and I got to say one final goodbye to everyone there.

    And to finish my time in Port, I did the one thing that seemed to make sense. I woke at 5am and went to watch the sunrise. A fitting end to my favourite place.

    Port Macquarie will forever hold a place in my heart and though it shall probably take me years, I know I shall return one day.
    Read more