Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 10

    Museo de Cacao

    January 14 in Nicaragua ⋅ ☀️ 29 °C

    The cacao bean has always been closely linked to the coffee bean in origin countries (the cacao belt is similar to the coffee, especially the Robusta that is grown at lower heights), distribution channels as well as processing.

    At the finca el Arbol I had my first run in with the cacao plant and the fresh beans - so a visit to the cacao museum was a must!
    The museum is free, rather simple but offers some specials like a spa, a hotel, free tours and free chocolate processing.

    I ended my 10 minute self guided tour with an original Atztecan hot chocolate. I took unsweetened just to experience what the colonists must’ve felt (to some degree). Drinkable, far away from the regular hot chocolate but an experience I won’t forget!

    (Yes, for my second half I did get one spoon of sugar 🤷🏽‍♀️🙈)
    Read more