Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 11

    Day 11: Uluwatu

    July 9, 2022 in Indonesia ⋅ ⛅ 27 °C

    After dropping of our laundry we headed to Tarabelle - Sam had ‘eggs my way’ and I had a breakfast wrap. As the weather was pretty grey we stuck around and had a doughnut whilst we finished our tea/coffee 🍩 Our main mission today was shopping followed by a beach afternoon, as we were both short on swimwear. Let the nightmare begin…

    The first shop we came to was for girls only…Sam immediately felt awkward as it turned out to be a lingerie shop as well as swimwear, so lurked in the corner trying not to look at anything. I tried on a bikini but it seemed the most coverage they had available was a thong. I will have to wait for my booty to be a bit more tanned before I whip that one out I think.

    The next place we came to was called Drifters - a very cool surf shop with a cafe. After a brief look around we headed across the road to compare what was about. I then made Sam try on 6 pairs of swim shorts - none of which were successful. He did however come away with a pair of flip flops he was in the market for, which were made of recycled tires from Indonesia, so he was sold. Back at Drifters I gathered another 8 pairs of shorts and 2 shirts for him, much to his disapproval! Luckily this time, we finally found the one! He came away with a new vest and pair of swim shorts completing the surfers outfit he aspired to.

    Sadly, I was not as lucky! After a quick coffee and smoothie at the cafe we headed to some more shops down the road. I ended up trying on ‘Large’ bikinis which still resulted in me having 4 bum cheeks they were so tight! Another 3 shops later I was ready to give up however the same can not be said for Sam who had managed to buy himself another shirt along the way! I ended up with what we named the ‘Skank bikini’ as it was truly awful looking but did however fit…which was rare!

    Finally we made it to Padang Padang beach where we managed to catch the last hour of sun and watch the surfers do their thing 🏄🏼‍♀️ On the way back we stopped off at The Cashew Tree for dinner to prepare us for the treacherous journey home in the dark - cars seem to drive in the middle of the road here which isn’t the best when you meet them on windy corners!
    Read more