Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 14

    Day: 14 Nusa Penida

    July 12, 2022 in Indonesia ⋅ ⛅ 24 °C

    So today began with myself on the toilet. That funny feeling from the night before had sadly not disappeared over night. Nonetheless we were up and out for breakfast at another eco cafe before check out at 10am. Sam had a seaweed smoothie bowl 🤢 and I had a berries one - seems this was not the best decision for my stomach! The cafe was cool, doing lots of work with recycling on the island and also neutering/medical care for strays.

    Back at the villa things took a turn for the worst and I was dragged back to the loo. We checked out and had to retreat to the beach for my stomach to settle before the day could continue! As a loo was no longer within reach, Sam bought a coffee at the cafe next to us so I could use theirs. An hour later I was good to go and we headed to Mushroom Bay. The roads on Nusa Lebongan are certainly not flat and this 10 minute journey was enough to send my stomach back into haywire.

    We found another cafe were I lay down and Sam brought another coffee 😅🚽 Another hour later I muscled up the energy to continue on and we headed across the bridge to Nusa Cennigan - The blue lagoon. It truly was a very blue lagoon!

    It was then time to head back as we had a arranged a private boat transfer to Nusa Penida through the guys from the hotel as the price was the equivalent of £2.50 more expensive than the public boat - or so they told us. Wondering what kind of boat we were rocking up to we were pleasantly surprised that it seemed to be in good nick - despite no signs of a life jacket anywhere! The journey was only 10 minutes and went surprisingly smoothly.

    Once on Penida we hired our moped (the best one yet with ALL working parts) and headed for our hotel. We ate lunch down at the restaurant - I had the most amazing pumpkin soup and Sam had banana shoot soup, all made with homegrown produce. We then headed to Sekartaji Cliff point to watch the sunset and have a fly of the drone.

    As the afternoon had gone so well I assumed my stomach was through the worst of it, however that sadly did not prove to be true. The evening was spent back on the 🚽 and room service was the only option for dinner - not that I ate much as plain food in Indonesia is hard to come by!
    Read more