Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 13

    Day 13: Sams Birthday

    July 11, 2022 in Indonesia ⋅ 🌧 27 °C

    Our planning hadn’t been the best moving location on poor Sams birthday as the day was a bit all over the place. The morning was full of putting luggage into storage and hanging around playing pool/table tennis waiting to be picked up at 12pm for our boat.

    We were eventually collected and made the 1.5hr transfer to Sanur harbour. With another hour to kill, we thought at this point we would should grab some lunch as we were unsurprisingly starving again! We ended up in a place called Beer Brothers - I ordered nachos and Sam ordered a noodle omelette. 40 minutes later still no food and we were due back to catch the bus to the port!

    I decided to check the status of the bus and headed down the road where I witnessed the last few people boarding! I then ran frantically back to Sam to tell him and we had to abandon our food which was heartbreaking to our starving stomachs. We waved down the bus as it pulled out the driveway but it was now full so we were instructed to wait for another driver. In hope of his noddle omelette, Sam ran back to the restaurant to see if the food was ready…which it still was not…apparently 1 minute away! Back he came again in anticipation of the driver who had now arrived. However, another couple were joining us and were in the process of loading all their luggage…which was a lot! So back to the restaurant Sam went with me screaming RUN at him across the road! Just as the driver was about to leave Sam returned with only the nachos as the omelette was still not done 1 hour after we had ordered it!! At least we had something to keep us going 🤷🏼‍♀️

    Now suitably stressed, we were transferred to the beach to board the boat. This involves timing your approach to avoid the waves as you wade through knee high water. Sadly my timing was extremely off and I thus had to endure the rest of the journey with wet knickers and a soaked skirt. The journey itself was what I would refer to as interesting…if that is what you can call whiplash and a near death experience. BIG SWELLS. The escape routes and life jackets were well noted and my fight or flight was activated for the full 40 minute trip (Sam says I am being overly dramatic here but I fail to believe that).

    Thankfully we did make it to Nusa Lebongan and were pleasantly surprised to arrive to turquoise waters and white sandy beaches…which we again waded through to reach land. We were met by 3 crazy ‘lads’ who chucked us on the back of mopeds and delivered us to our villa which was in a great location.

    We headed straight out for some food at the Thai restaurant a 1 minute walk from our door, that looked out over the bay. I ordered a green curry and sam had chicken satay…but what he did not realise was that the chicken satay was a starter and thus he was left starving…again! Luckily for him however, I never finish my food so my leftovers were enough to keep him going.

    We then jumped on the moped and headed to the devils tears 😈 were we watched some big waves splash against some rocks and had a go with the drone. Next up was crazy golf…I was winning up to the 9th hole and then had 2 shockers in a row and Sam took the lead. This did not go down well and I decided crazy golf was a rubbish game anyway and i was so only there for the mojito…it was mojito Monday after all. And also as it was his birthday so I guess I had to let him win.

    We then headed to a beach club for dinner but at this point we had crashed and we’re both ready for a sleep. I had also started to develop a strange feeling that something wasn’t quite right within me. Back at the villa Sam had a second wind and fancied one last drink, so we headed to a bar called the Howff which was a funky little “underground” bar with one side completely open to the sea. We had the “Lad and Lassie” cocktails which came as a pair and were dark rum based…of which we both remembered we didn’t like after drinking the first sip!

    What a day!
    Read more