Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 25

    Relaxing Tuesday

    August 4, 2020 in Australia ⋅ 🌙 19 °C

    Emily had walked into Woopi, grabbed a coffee from Bluebottles Cafe and walked back along the beach before I even got up!
    And I was up at 8am.
    I seem to sleep long hours here.
    I don’t set an alarm, just wake up when I wake up.
    That is heaven.

    Emily and I headed to Tai Chi in the park next to the caravan park.
    9.30am for an hour.
    It was fun.
    Still the most uncoordinated person on the planet, possibly the universe.
    But he was very nice and encouraging and we certainly enjoyed it.
    “Massage for the body” he calls it.
    Certainly felt relaxed ...
    It was so sunny, we had to move into the shade!

    Emily headed back into Bumper to work.
    I clipped Lacey’s lead to my belt and she led the way to the lake while I towed the kayak.
    It’s on wheels.
    So I just tow it along behind me.
    I learnt how to place the wheels in the kayak yesterday so I leave nothing on shore when I paddle away.

    Two good things about this...
    No one runs off with your wheels...
    And you can pull into shore wherever you like and pack up there.

    Paddling the kayak is way more fun than I thought it may be.
    I am still terrified of anything that may live in the water....
    But as it was 2 feet deep today, I thought I was OK.
    And it is fresh water...
    ( Nothing big lives in there by the way, it’s just me being paranoid.)
    There is no way that any large fish can get the 100 yards from the sea into the lake via 5 inches of water.
    ( See? I’ve thought about this, a lot.)

    So ... just to get over this irrational thought, I paddled about a kilometre to an old bridge that crosses the lake.
    Passed over rocks, tree trunks, sandbars ...
    And rounded the corner to the bridge.
    Once you pass under the bridge, the creek narrows and foliage hangs over the water like in the Amazon.
    So since getting to the bridge was my nemesis, I floated and looked... and then hitailed it out of there.
    (There might have been anacondas or something!)

    So much fun.
    The wind was creating small ripples coming towards me so I thought I was in for a struggle paddling back.
    No, the current of the creek took me and we flew along.
    ( Lacey was riding point.)

    Headed back to camp.
    Read in the hammock.
    The people are packing up on site 66.
    They leave tomorrow.
    I cannot wait.
    We are a bit cramped on this site and it doesn’t look the way we want it to.

    Decided to set up my bed permanently so the it reaches the white IKEA unit.
    The mattress piece fits perfectly to there.
    So I have my bed to lie on during the day if I want.
    All set up.
    Just perfect!
    I am so thrilled everything works so well.

    It’s been so sunny that I have put a blackout curtain on the outside of the back window during the day to keep the van a bit cooler.
    Held on with magnets.

    We have SO many magnets.
    But could not live without them.

    Walk along the beach about 5pm.
    Dinner and bed.

    Oh ... and my thongs are chewing away at my feet.
    I think I am done with them.

    Xxxxx
    Read more