Satellite
Show on map
  • Waiting on our China visas

    January 19, 2019 in the United States ⋅ 🌧 46 °F

    Time is getting closer. Sent of our requests for China visas about a week ago. Cost us about $450 to make that happen. Going through a company that Gate1 uses (GenVisa) which allows me to mail all the docs to them and then they process it through the Chinese Embassy. Otherwise I’d be driving to Washington DC and probably spending more money to make it happen. I was a bit shocked at the cost of that visa. However, it is good for 10 years, not that I see ourselves going back and forth repeatedly to China. Saw a news article the other day indicating the alert level for China had been raised to Level 2 due to some arbitrary “exit ban” they’ve instituted which means they can keep you from exiting the country. Guess I need to start practicing my Chinese!

    Also went in and selected aisle/aisle seats for us on our American flights so that we weren’t faced with a 14 hr flight having to stumble over people to get into the aisle. Usually Janet will do window and I’ll be stuck in the middle. I’ll live with that to Europe if I have to, but no way to China!!

    Weather should hopefully be decent in late March/early May. Maybe mid 50’s during the day. https://www.chinahighlights.com/beijing/weather…

    Some pics from Beijing and Shanghai China of our upcoming trip.
    Read more