Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 2

    No. 211, Guangzhou St, Wanhua District

    October 9, 2016 in Taiwan ⋅ ⛅ 22 °C

    One of the famous landmarks in Taiwan I went to was the Longshan Temple located in the Wanhua District. Before I get into the awesomeness details of such culture that was built in 1738, lets rewind the clock to a few hours beforehand.

    When I think of a normal train station or a building of a train station, my imagination is not far off than the one I imagined at Roma St Brisbane.

    My uncle and aunt's place was not far away from the Banqiao Train Station, which was approximately a 15minutes walk. And for the life of me, it took me about an extra 30min to find the building. Here's the tip: Just because a building looks like a commercial building, it does not mean it can't be a train station in Taipei! It has a huge shopping mall in the building, restaurants, 7/11, shoe shops, surf shops, sports wear.. and many many more. It also has High Speed Rail, normal trains, underground trains, buses, and taxi's... Honestly, that was why I was lost for such a long time. Also mind you, the ONLY time I was lost in Taiwan. Getting to the Banqiao Train Station, and when I was inside it.
    .
    The Longshan Temple was legit one of the most artistic and impressionable landmarks that I've ever been to. Longshan Temple has a miniwaterfall, gardens, along with a lot of people praying and offering their food. It was so cultural and ancestral.. It felt so harmonious. I'm not a religious sort of person, but I really enjoyed it. The atmosphere... It was on point!
    Read more