Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 3

    Taipei MRT

    October 10, 2016 in Taiwan ⋅ ⛅ 24 °C

    I was really impressed with the Taipei MRT. The Taipei MRT is exactly like the London Tube in London, except much cleaner! Not only at Shandao Temple Station, which was where I took the photo, but at EVERY station. The stations are sparkling clean, and the cleanliness was something I've never seen before in any country! Yep, eat your words to every Westerner who thinks all Asian countries are dirty.

    People are so respectful towards each other. No screaming or shouting - I don't think I've seen even one "bogan" during my time in Taiwan.

    The MRT trains come at every two to three minutes, five at max. It was really efficient! Like the Oyster Card in London or the Go Card in Brisbane, you pay for the card and then top up however much you wish to. I can't remember how much money the card cost, but I topped up $100NTD (about $4AUD) and if memory serves, it cost me $20NTD from Banqiao Station to Longshan Temple Station which is approximately $0.84AUD. In another words... Public transport was super cheap for this little Aussie trotter!
    Read more