Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 1

    The first leg of the journey

    April 22, 2018 in Australia ⋅ ⛅ 23 °C

    I'm almost 2 weeks into my road trip and I dont know where the time has gone. Being on the road has been exhilarating, freeing and a cornucopia of wonderful sites. I would like to share some of this with you now and over the next 12 months.
    The free camping opportunities have been varied and abundant - except in built up areas like Esperance and Ceduna. Then caravan parks become essential and useful for getting the basics like laundry done and a long hot shower. The free camps are solitude and nature and for just being. With no time pressure to leave.
    My journey started with a drive to Keynton to say hello and a goodbye to Raelene. Her relatively sudden death last year was one of the reasons for buying my van and starting the journey. She would have approved and has been encouraging me from afar.
    The 34 degree heat and strong northerly winds sent me on a path to the river bend at Swan Reach for my first night. The camp site was stunning, private and cool.
    I made my way through the Barossa to another free camping site near Alligator Gorge. Perfect again. Stunning 360 degree views including the Yorke Penninsular. A couple of days climbing and walking at Alligator Gorge and Wilpeena Pound.
    Friday night at the front bar of the Cradock pub for a counter meal and coverage of the Crows / Collingwood match. Not happy with the result.
    A quick stop at Port Augusta to fuel up with food, water and diesel. Not much else I would want to do there. To be continued.
    Read more