Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 6

    Challenges on the road

    April 27, 2018 in Australia ⋅ 🌙 17 °C

    Although the places I visited and the campsites I stayed at were in beautiful locations I experienced my first bit of angst since leaving home. After stopping for a relaxing lunch I was accosted with a continuous high pitch alarm which was related to my van step. A very annoying high pitched sound to drive with. My problem solving skills let me down. Once I arrived at my destination and camped overnight, the sound disappeared. Not before I sent an 'urgent' email to Phil, my warranty manager. I did wander whether my emails were already being blocked by him, having sent him a number of emails already in the last six months.
    I camped on the edge of a river inlet to Munglinup Beach - beautiful peaceful spot. I must have been distracted when I set off on my morning walk as I missed noticing a bee hive situated in a rock face. Running, screaming from a swarm of bees, I was stung at the edge of my ear canal entrance - painful as it was I realised a bee in my ear canal would have been far worse. End of walk.
    After an overnighter in a National Park at Fitzgerald River I tested out the 4 wheel drive capacity of the
    Hilux and my skills. Needed to release the tyre pressure due to the corregated road and then use my compressor to reinflate them. I felt really clever and almost a man!!!
    But not so clever - miscalculating arrival time at campsite - arriving in the dark- I managed to scrape my side windows and my roof due to branches and then get bogged on the beach. Not good but luckily help was at hand and I had bought a good spade. I didn't panic(much). I was relieved to leave in the morning without any further issues. My van is no longer looking new.
    A quick trip to Albany to shop and view the National Anzac Centre and soldiers memorial. An episode of Atrial fibrillation - (maybe I need to listen to my heart) - relieved by medication (first one in months maybe stress related) and then I head off to find that evenings campsite. Where will I be tonight?
    Read more