Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 3

    Orisson to Burguete-Auritz

    September 19, 2022 in Spain ⋅ ☀️ 22 °C

    I woke up early in Orisson to the most beautiful sunrise over the mountain. The sun seems to rise slowly here, as it takes a journey over the peaks of the Pyrenees.

    Along the road, there were so many herd animals. Sheep, cows, horses, pigs… and some free animals like the birds of prey that circled the highest summits.

    I walked with Chet for a long time, as we seemed to walk at about the same pace. He is a very kind man and I hope I see him and his wife again.

    Roncesvalles was a cute little town but I’m glad I went the extra two kilometers through the woods to this town.

    I was the first to arrive at my hostel, and got a head start showering and resting before dinner. Sadly, I am once again stuck in a room with a guy who sounds like he’s coughing his lungs out. I don’t anticipate much sleep, even with my earplugs. I wish sick people would just stay in a private room instead of ruining it for everyone else. I really can’t get sick while I’m on this trip so I’m trying to stay away and wash my hands plenty.

    For dinner, I walked to the local grocery store with my bunk mate, a woman from California who is currently living in Kentucky with her daughter and grandchildren.

    I met two guys from the US who were a riot. They referred to each other as “my best friend” almost exclusively and one brought about two pounds of tea supplies that he shared with me. This is by far the latest I have stayed up and it’s because of good conversation, company, and tea.
    Read more