Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 5

    Zubiri to Villava

    September 21, 2022 in Spain ⋅ ☀️ 23 °C

    While the terrain is now much more flat, my feet are paying for the past two weeks of nearly non-stop hiking. I am going to take a day in Pamplona to explore the city and rest my tired feet. I have already gone nearly 100 kilometers and I think I will try to keep the pace of resting for a day or two every 100.

    The walk today was along the river and I even stopped for a bit and put my feet in. The water was so cold that I couldn’t do it for long, but I had a very nice spot under the shady trees. Heidi, from Germany, even joined me for a bit before we both moved on.

    The town I am staying in tonight is a suburb of Pamplona and it is beautiful. The albergue I am staying in tonight is right on the town’s river walk.

    I still lament that my brain is in French mode now that I am in Spain but it seems like more people here speak English than earlier in France.

    Ashley, who I met my first night in Orisson, is also staying at the same place and we had a lovely drink together on the riverside.

    Also I dropped my phone in the albergue toilet so that was fun.
    Read more