Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 5

    Caldas de Reis

    March 26 in Spain ⋅ 🌧 8 °C

    I arrive in Caldas around noon. I am relieved to be here. Just under 5hrs of walking. My feet are doing well. The preventative blister patches are ensuring I don't get any new ones. I'm keeping on top of the one I developed on my left little toe and that's not getting any worse. Surprisingly in all that rain my feet are dry. I forgot that my trail shoes are waterproof. How smart of previous me to get that.

    I walk past the thermal baths. I consider stopping in there but I know if I do I would have to taxi to my accommodation. There is no way I can stop now. I seek out a place that has indoor seating so I can get a cafe solo and get warm until I can check into my albergue.

    I get my coffee and a pastry. The pastry was dry and not worth finishing. I take it to leave in the albergue for some pilgrim to enjoy. The albergue is ok, its freezing though. They have heating but didn't think to turn it on until asked. I of course asked as I hate being cold. There is a swimming pool and lovely outdoor space. If it was warmer I'd definitely make use of those.

    I bought my lunch & dinner from the grocery on the way here. I'm a creature of habit and craved yogurt, fruit and granola so had that for lunch and bread and cheese for dinner. I have to force myself to eat dinner as a melancholy mood hits me. I'm super down, teary eyed, not sure what's wrong. Not sure if I'm just freezing or tired but I need to shake this.

    I decide to venture out in the cold again and look for some of the highlights of the town. I find the thermal baths where pilgrims soak their feet. It's a traditional laundry pace. I've passed many of these on the walk. This one is special because the water that flows in is naturally heated 30C+ and has minerals good for healing sore limbs. Even though I didn't bring a towel I decide to go for it. It truly is relaxing. The bath is filled with friendly pilgrims and I get one to take my pic. It really lifts my mood and I feel instantly better. Not sure if it was the hot water, the friendly smiles or just getting outside. I'm glad I pushed myself.

    Today's step count just over 42,000 steps and 30km.
    Read more