Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 7

    Chat

    March 28 in Spain ⋅ 🌧 9 °C

    Last night, before going to bed, I decided that I wouldn't be leaving early. The weather is forecast for rain and I can't check into my accommodation before 2 pm. The walk should only take 4hrs so no need to rush. I have a leisurely lie in till 7.30am. It was a lovely, easy start to my day. Others in the accommodation thought the same, and there were many having breakfast when I went down to sort my bag.

    When I check my shoes, I notice the right one has a loose sole at the front. This happened overnight as the shoes were left in front of the fire. That probably loosened up the glue on the soles. I tie a bit of string to the front to keep it from flapping, but that comes off 10 mins intonthe walk. Thankfully this happened on the last day of the trail! These shoes are from my 100km days in 2016 so I have no problem tossing them. I'd like to complete the walk in these shoes though.

    I set off on the walk with my Canadian friends. Niky stopped at every cat we saw. This lengthens the time we are walking.

    They are super alert and chatty in the morning. We start the walk off with a song, and then the chatter keeps going. They have a good pace for walking with the chatter. I'm surprisingly chatty with them as well. It's raining as we walk but I'm taking lots of pictures.

    We're passing the way markers really quickly now.
    Read more