Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 2

    Day 1 Porto to Vila do Conde

    September 8, 2023 in Portugal ⋅ ☁️ 20 °C

    I took the metro to Matosinhos, where I met up with Lisa and Carolyn from Portland. The stock advice when beginning the camino (any version), is not to walk too far on your first day. Thank goodness I only planned for a 23km day. You may think it is "just walking." In other words, How hard could it be? As it turns out, pretty hard! I started overheating and needed to slow down. I said goodbye to Lisa and Carolyn, took a rest in the shade and drank lots of water, and felt better fairly quickly. Thankfully their are lots of taps and water fountains along the beaches.

    I stopped for lunch and met Judy from Texas, we walked the rest of the way to Vila do Conde together. Judy will celebrate her 70th birthday in Santiago.
    My Albergue is so cute! There is a lady from Italy in my room who has a manicure with the scallop shell…it matches my pedicure. Also in my room is Alette from the Netherlands. We went for dinner together. We were looking for a steakhouse but it was closed. A local man saw our frustration and walked us to another restaurant, O Mestre, where we had burgers and a much needed drink. It was a great 1st day.
    Read more