Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 16

    Checked out of Charleville

    June 17, 2022 in Australia ⋅ ☀️ 18 °C

    Checked out of Charleville for the 3.5hr trip to Blackall around 9. We had all planned a Pit Stop for toilet and coffee at Tambo but our ‘Pilot’ car pulled up suddenly, on the edge of the very very narrow ‘Matilda Way’ ( no shoulder to pull into) used by road trains and lots of caravans 30km’s out of Blackall. Polly jumped out at great speed, again! disappearing off into the bushes and I thought to myself she is getting a thrill out of all this as it is becoming quite a habit. We only just spotted the top of her head in the bushes as we passed. Dave did a great job of ushering us on, luckily he has experience at waving cars on, and working in danger from his years of working with Formula One team.
    For once, when we got to Blackall we did ‘not’ score the worst Site. Goaty had the problems on his Site with his water connections bursting during the night! :-) Not sure if I will upset those at home with this information but I had to sleep with my legs out of the covers in our van last night, it was warm. , I have now packed away my hot water bottle. BB is still wearing’ that’ black fur lined jacket outside at night. I might not worry about washing it when he finally takes it off permanently, I have told him I am burying it. Someone nearby to us had the aircon going in their van today and it was ‘only’ 25 degrees. We are now in shorts and t’shirts (less washing) and plan on getting a tan up for Darwin. Everyone did different things today, we hung out with David and Polly. We walked all along the Main Street and had coffee and tea at the old Masonic Lodge tea gardens. Dave had coffee and requested ‘5’ shots I am now convinced he may not normal as BB only has (1). We met a local identity by the name of ‘Gloria’ in the cafe and the boys wandered off as us girls struck up a conversation. Gloria invited Polly and myself to her home for tea and a slice of her ‘special’ fruit cake at 3 that afternoon, we accepted.
    I wrote her address down, we did not want to disappoint her and we dragged Jo along with us! The fruit cake was definitely not suitable for ‘child consumption’ you needed to be of legal age to eat it. It was a Rum liqueured fruit cake, and we were told 1 Cup of Rum was added and fruit soaked in quarter cup of Muscat overnight. To be honest I had trouble ‘drinking the cake’ as I am not that fond of Rum. Gloria herself polished off her slice easily. Such an interesting lady and she told us about her life as a Registered Nurse. To finish the visit we were given a tour of her home and garden and we learnt that she visits the local dump EVERY Sunday and brings home lots of treasures, ornaments which she cleans and restores. Gloria’s home was bursting at the seams, very organised and tidy with not not an inch spare inside. There was no room on her kitchen table, lounge chairs, kitchen benches.
    I was so pleased we made the time to call in, she pulled a heart string for me when she said she has often invited ‘visitors’ and they don’t turn up. I took a photo of a beautiful Parrot in one of her tree’s out the back that was an extra highlight for me. Tomorrow we move onto Longreach for 5 nights. I only did (2) loads of washing here in Blackall so I will have but a lot of washing to do next stop I have not washed our sheets since we left home.
    Read more