Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 2

    Airport Bound

    October 23, 2017 in England ⋅ ⛅ 12 °C

    6.40am
    Only had about 4 hours sleep last night as the excitement was finally beginning to kick in! Was up at 4am this morning, Mum & Dad got up to see me off. Dad moaned about the weight of my suitcase, but it is only 16kgs, plus both Mel & I have packed our small cases into our large ones so plenty of room for additional items coming home.

    I’m so tired that this is taking ages to write this & I keep making loads of spelling errors, plus I deleted a whole chunk of text! If synchronised yawning was an olympic sport, Mel & I could be on track for the gold medal! We didn’t shut up talking for first 90mins of taxi ride, the driver must be relieved that he now has a bit of peace. I must say that the taxi is very comfortable & spacious though!

    8.50am
    Already checked in & sat in departures! Journey here was much quicker than expected, arrived at airport 7.30am.
    Check in was painless, I made a point of checking that my nut allergy was recorded. As Virgin cannot guarantee nut free food I got a voucher for £20 to buy food in departures. Boarding is from 10am so time to chill & stock up on food. Once again I have been randomly selected at boarding for a special security search, luckily at least I only have a handbag this time. That is the second time since coming to America that I have been selected, how come Mel has got away with it that is what I want to know!
    Read more