Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 13

    Leaving Nashville & Arrival at Home

    November 3, 2017 in England ⋅ ⛅ 10 °C

    4.20pm - 02.11.17
    Sat in Nashville airport, think we got here a bit too early but it is always better to be safe than sorry plus you never know how long it will take to get through security (it took less than 5 mins!!).
    Our flight doesn’t leave until 5.35pm but we should be able to board in about 30mins.

    We didn’t get up until gone 9 this morning as we knew we had until 12pm to check out & we did 80% of our packing last night. We both had plenty of room in our suitcases & both were below the baggage weight limits. We checked out & left our suitcases at the hotel & went for a wander. We called in McDonalds for lunch as we wanted something quick & easy. I spoke to Dad & Nic, i’m impressed with Dad as he answered my video chat ok!

    Just been able to check in our hand luggage, as well as our main luggage - bonus! At least we won’t have it with us changing flights now.

    Red Eye Flight
    The flight from Nashville to Atlanta was straight forward & quicker than expected which gave us plenty of time to get off the plane & get to where we needed to go for our next flight in Atlanta, in fact we may have had time for a spot of duty free shopping 😉

    The flight home was fine, one thing I noted is that compared to Virgin, Delta are not as good regarding my nut allergy. All 3 Delta flights were informed & an announcement was made on only 1 of these flights. They didn’t compensate on the fact I could not eat the food either. But hey ho, never mind, thankfully all was ok.

    I think I managed about 90mins sleep coming home, Mel didn’t get any sleep - she managed to get through 2 films, unheard of for her! I managed to watch 1 film coming home which left me a distraught, blubbering wreck (just ask Mel - think she found it quite amusing!) I watched ‘A Dog’s Purpose’ - I thought Marley & Me was bad, it had nothing on this film. Oh my god the tears, think I got through a whole pack of tissues!!

    Mel also got addicted to 1 of the in flight games, was a bit like Pac-Man but with a chicken, trying to outrun sheep & she got to level 30! She now holds on the high scores records!

    At one point there appeared to be an emergency on board, as the flight attendants were all gathered searching up & down the aisles with torches. We don’t know for sure but believe someone was taken ill.

    9.30pm - 03.11.17
    We were a bit late coming into Heathrow, due to ground fog at the airport. We didn’t rush getting off the plane & timed it right as we only had to wait a couple of mins for our baggage to be at the carousel.
    Julie was also a bit delayed too due to an accident, so we could just relax at the fact we were back in UK.

    We called in for food at Pizza Hut on way home, by then I was starving!! Then both Mel & I were dozing of in the car for the rest of the journey. Julie finally got some peace & quiet!

    I haven’t done too much since getting home, mainly napping. I will unpack tomorrow!!
    Read more