Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 3

    Day 2, Orisson to Roncesvalles

    May 25, 2023 in Spain ⋅ ☁️ 11 °C

    We were delighted to wake up to a clearer sky and charmed by the view (more visible this morning than any time yesterday). After breakfast we set out (at 8.15) for Roncevalles, a 17k walk through the Pyrenees - uphill for about 11 and downhill for the rest. The weather was pretty cold and my weight-conscious packing didn’t seem quite so smart as I got progressively colder and eventually found that my fingers had stopped fully functioning. However, this was one of the most amazing walks I’ve ever done. Utterly stunning and once again beyond the scope of my photographic skills to capture.
    Walking the Camino is beginning to feel like living in a village since we already seem to know so many of the people we meet. Today we added an Irish couple to our list. Had a long conversation about whether you can be Irish if you’re second generation and about the horrors of Brexit. Whiled away the last kilometre or two with ease.
    Right now I’m mildly depressed to face dinner wearing the same clothes I’ve been relying on constantly for the past couple days. Hoping for warmer weather and the possibility of changing into a dress in the evening.
    Read more