Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 23

    Day 22, Bercianos to Mansilla

    June 14, 2023 in Spain ⋅ ⛅ 21 °C

    I think this counts as my most challenging day yet. I went to sleep early but was really not well during the night and had to do a number of emergency trips to the bathroom - not ideal
    In any circumstances but especially awkward when you are sleeping in a dormitory full of strangers. One of my roommates, Pearl, told me she didn’t hear anything and I do hope she wasn’t just being polite.
    I’d arranged to meet Nick, Paul and Mike (Pearl came too) at 6.30 so was up early but threw up before I left and once, embarrassingly, on the road.
    The team were absolutely lovely and Mike, who was walking with me at the time of my embarrassment, was an absolute gentleman for the rest of the walk. His conversation kept me going. Two Italian men who were passing at the time were also extremely solicitous. They were trying to offer advice but we were struggling to understand each other. They walked on a bit and then returned with a paragraph on Google translate with their suggestions.
    Despite feeling a bit wobbly I managed to walk the 27 kms to Mansilla de las Mulas. There didn’t seem to be a lot of choice but to keep walking because we were in the middle of nowhere and I knew I didn’t want to stay there.
    I was hugely relieved to arrive in Mansilla but as soon as we got there Nick found out that there was a bus to Leon in 10 minutes (and several hours before the next one) so I didn’t have time to see Fiona before I moved on.
    Rachel joined us in taking the bus but Fiona wanted to stay to swim at Mansilla. And unlike the rest of us, she does not want to cheat by skipping the harsh walk along the highway into the city.
    In Leon I checked into my lovely room and slept for ages while half listening to the Archers omnibus. In the evening I got up, had a bath and met the others. I felt a lot better. However I decided to play it safe tonight so left them to eat without me and went to a supermarket where I got myself bread, cheese, a banana and a coke for dinner. There’s lots of life in the street below me and Leon seems a lovely city - I’m hoping to be on top form tomorrow when Fiona arrives.
    Read more