Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 22

    Day 21, Terradillos to Bercianos

    June 13, 2023 in Spain ⋅ ☁️ 19 °C

    I’m feeling a bit under the weather this evening - I’m afraid I’ve got a stomach bug - so will make this a short one. This was the day we passed the Camino’s halfway point at Sahagun, having walked 250 miles. Our only stop here, apart from a coffee shop, was the monastery which issues a certificate to say you made it halfway. We had a little look round at the monastery which contained some beautiful and moorish-inspired murals. Much has been lost but what remains is exquisite.
    Today’s walk began around 6.45 in cool, misty conditions. Rachel walked with us and although she and Fiona kept stopping for me to catch up with them, the pace they set was faster than I was comfortable with. Yesterday Rachel had tried to teach us to use our poles to do Nordic walking but my lamentable lack of coordination made this a tall order for me. I am still trying!
    After Sahagun I said goodbye to Fiona and Rachel as they set off for the Roman road. I needn’t have worried about being lonely. Nick, a former serviceman, and Paul from Derry walked with me the final 15 kilometres. Tomorrow morning they are picking me up at 6.30am.
    I’m staying in a four bed dorm but there are only currently only two of us here. Pearl, my Canadian roommate and I had dinner together, along with some of her friends. I’m worried that I began to feel quite queasy during the meal and fear my stomach isn’t right.
    I really hope I will wake up feeling better tomorrow. I was utterly shattered when I got here this afternoon and could have slept for the night when I had a nap. Fingers crossed that a really good night’s sleep will cure me. We have done a run of long walks and I am looking forward to getting to Leon tomorrow evening where I will stay 3 nights and recuperate.
    Read more