Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 7

    The eyrie.

    June 25, 2019 in Canada ⋅ 🌧 24 °C

    I have renamed our Airbnb in Montreal the ‘eyrie’ it is situated on the 19th and top floor of a block of flats. When I look out the open window I get that tingling feeling of apprehension as I stare down to road level. Just one slip and I could be a stain on someone’s car. The inference would be that there are nice views to be had. This is not the case though. Opposite is another block of flats and we are directly in line with the air conditioning system that drones on day and night and we have to keep the windows open to in order to cool the flat. Below the A/C I can look into people private lives. I’d like to reenact scenes from Hitchcock’s ‘The rear window’ but I haven’t seen anyone across the way yet. Noise and smells funnel up to our level and we get snippets of conversations that are a disproportional distance away. Our apartment fills with the aromas of cigarettes, Chinese cooking and weed as it’s legal in Canada. It’s rained a lot today!Read more