Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 30

    Ponferrada - Albergue Alea

    October 7, 2019 in Spain ⋅ ⛅ 61 °F

    What started out as a glorious day turned to shit by the halfway point. We left town with a breathtaking sunrise painting the sky with crimson strokes. We reached the Cruz de Ferro and placed the painted rocks that we had brought from home. It was not a deep, spiritual moment for me. My heart is clear, my soul is unburdened, and my mind is open. It seems like so many who are walking are seeking answers. I'm not. It was an extremely difficult descent for me with steep rocky trails so I slowly picked my way down. We encountered an unstable young man as we were entering Molinaseca and he was screaming behind us over and over, so loud. I finally stopped and told him that I'd had enough, he was frightening other female pilgrims, and that he needed to go find somewhere quiet to sit and drink some water. He got right in my face and continued to scream nonsense. I walked off with Maria and he calmed down and walked into town. We followed at a distance and called the police. That's another story in itself. We rested and I had a drink. Then we did the long, hot walk into Ponferrada and got a lovely room in a small albergue. Mia has had sume kind of allergic reaction in addition to bug bites and I'm just exhausted. It's hard enough to do this on your own but caring for a child is so much harder. I can't look after my needs until she's taken care of. I wouldn't trade this for anything though. I love that little warrior girl so much.

    Lo que comenzó como un día glorioso se convirtió en una mierda a mitad de camino. Salimos de la ciudad con un impresionante amanecer pintando el cielo con trazos carmesí. Llegamos a la Cruz de Ferro y colocamos las rocas pintadas que habíamos traído de casa. No fue un momento profundo y espiritual para mí. Mi corazón está despejado, mi alma no está cargada y mi mente está abierta. Parece que muchos de los que están caminando buscan respuestas. No soy. Fue un descenso extremadamente difícil para mí con empinados senderos rocosos, así que lentamente comencé a bajar. Nos encontramos con un joven inestable cuando entramos en Molinaseca y gritaba detrás de nosotros una y otra vez, tan fuerte. Finalmente me detuve y le dije que ya había tenido suficiente, que estaba asustando a otras peregrinas y que tenía que ir a buscar un lugar tranquilo para sentarse y beber agua. Me dio en la cara y continuó gritando tonterías. Me fui con María y él se calmó y entró en la ciudad. Lo seguimos a distancia y llamamos a la policía. Esa es otra historia en sí misma. Descansamos y tomé una copa. Luego hicimos la larga y calurosa caminata hacia Ponferrada y obtuvimos una hermosa habitación en un pequeño albergue. Mia ha tenido un tipo de reacción alérgica además de las picaduras de insectos y estoy agotada. Es bastante difícil hacer esto por su cuenta, pero cuidar a una niña es mucho más difícil. No puedo atender mis necesidades hasta que ella se haya ocupado. Sin embargo, no cambiaría esto por nada. Amo mucho a esa pequeña niña guerrera.
    Read more