Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 6

    Day 3

    October 11, 2023 in Australia ⋅ ☀️ 20 °C

    Dwellingup 0 klms
    Awake very, very early so I ventured out on a local Dwellingup reconnaissance seeking the Trails and Visitors Center that includes the Waypoints Cafe and the bike shop. Woohoo! Found them!
    And then as the township slept I’d established a plan and it was all dependent on things falling into my predetermined strategy.
    6:30am - plenty of time for a wander and have things packed and be ready to scoot
    8:00am - coffee and breakfast
    9:00am - mechanical diagnosis and remedy
    Soon after, during the morning - on the trail.
    What luck! A terrific, hot, aromatic, heart warming, soul fulfilling coffee, and a scrumptious breaky wrap. Joining me were fellow Munda Biddians offering warm greetings and best wishes upon my repairs. In actual fact, the three most helpful blokes had a squiz, shook their heads and nodded and in agreement said a bike mechanic would be best skilled to solve my conundrum.
    As the clock chimed 9 (in my head) the bike shop opened and I sauntered in hopes high and was greeted by Colleen - a jubilant, vivacious soul whose presence soothed my anxiety whilst I gained the confidence to ask for assistance. Delighted to know that they have a bike mechanic yet disappointed that today is his day off! Damn! Noting the wind fall from my sail Colleen checked with Paul the mechanic and assured me that he’ll be in by 9:00am tomorrow. Ripper!!!
    Thankful and resigned to a day of dawdling, I further explored Dwelly and what remains of the Hotham Railway train line and the trains it serviced.
    As the day passed, I began tossing up alternative arrangements should things not go to plan. I even test rode a bike in the inevitable chance that mine would not be fixable.
    Whilst a great test ride the bike is not set up for my purposes. Could be a good sign … at any rate - I’ll sleep on it.
    Read more