Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 5

    Day 2

    October 10, 2023 in Australia ⋅ ⛅ 17 °C

    Jarrahdale to Dwellingup - 75 klms.

    Back on track and a day dominated by pea gravel, steep inclines, steep declines and pea gravel. OMG! Pea gravel, has to be ridden to be believed. If you can imagine wheel spinning up hill and skidding down with a minimal adhesion, non- directional steering and a knowledge that there’s a ripper of a chance of eating dirt - then that’s pea gravel and my goodness it was a challenge.
    Having spent a couple of days back in Perth avoiding the effects of a controlled burn off that tempered my first attempt I was raring to go so with a dawn departure I hastened my getaway.
    Leaving Jarrahdale I descend down to the Serpentine River crossing before a steep climb and off towards North Dandalup. Reaching the Danalup hut (where I’d planned to camp) sooner than expected I decided to push on to Dwellingup. Push indeed!
    All day I encountered stunning stands of trees, glorious vistas, the light and shade as the sun’s rays permeated the canopy, birdsong and picturesque displays of wildflowers and pea gravel.
    Along the way I was greeted and passed by five fellow Munda Biddians with Dwellingup their overnight resting place. Mine too … I’d hoped.
    Content that they too had enjoyed the pea gravel just as much as me - albeit with a tad more skill and speed - it was Dwellingup or bust by sunset.
    Indeed, I did make it in before dusk, checked into the Dwelly Pub, washed away today’s grime, had a scrumptious burger and chips and rather dejectedly set about formulating a maintenance plan. Coupled with the trials and tribulations of pea gravel the second half of my day was spent traveling in the highest gear - terrific if negotiating firm ground and steep ascents yet not so for all other encounters. Why? Because I encountered a mechanical problem and my only way out of town is to have the issue addressed by the local bike mechanic in the morning. Dreaming of a successful solution and another day in the saddle … good night
    Read more