Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 11

    Day 8

    October 16, 2023 in Australia ⋅ ⛅ 16 °C

    Munda Biddi: Day 8 - 16 October 2023
    Boodja Hut to Donnybrook - 48 klms

    Roused from an extraordinarily good sleep by birdsong and a rowdy kookaburra I emerged from my tent to a not so chilly glorious morning.
    After yesterday’s mixed adventure it was wise to not push on to Boyanup. Knowing that I’m in for another hot day my hope was to have a late breakfast in Boyanup and lunch in Donnybrook where I’ll spend the night.
    Shortly after Nglang Boodja I left the forest and descended into hilly farm land with great views. Apart from the “inevitabhill”climb or three a substantial amount of the trail was downhill including some quiet gravel roads on the way into Boyanup. That is if you choose to take the 4 kilometre duck in and out of town offer. What swayed my decision to do Boyanup was the big sign with a coffee icon pointing the way.
    A toasted bacon and egg sandwich, coffee and a cold drink and I was good to go. Once back on the track out of Boyanup I continued to travel through forest and farmland and eventually onto a long, mostly downhill section of paved road into the Apple capital of Western Australia - Donnybrook!
    Had dinner at the only pub in town an am staying in a backpackers lodge. Fortunately, I’ve a room to myself. There is a real hum of people noise as I turn out the lights. It seems and feels like things keep getting better along the trail. Can’t wait for tomorrow …
    Read more