Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 34

    First solo hitchhhike

    February 6, 2018 in Chile ⋅ ☀️ 21 °C

    Today I decided to go to the Faro Carono lighthouse. The bus leaves you 7 km away, and I decided it was about time to try hitchhiking. I have actually been doing it a few times with others here, but never alone.

    The first hike I got was with a man that I did not understand one single word of. I still speak very little spanish, but that man was seriously impossible to understand. Quite awkward car ride!

    He dropped me where he lived, and there was still about 4 km to the lighthouse. I didn’t even walk 20 metres before the next car stopped for me. It was a lovely family of four that kind of ended up «adopting me». After we arrived to the lighthouse they asked me if I wanted to join to a fort, and then back to Ancud. I was super happy about it, and they were so sweet! I got to practice my spanish, as they didn’t speak english. Spent maybe 3-4 hours with them. I was super lucky getting picked up by them :D
    Read more