Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 49

    Puerto Rio Tranquilo

    February 21, 2018 in Chile ⋅ ⛅ 26 °C

    I ended up in a funny old bus from Cerro Castillo to Puerto Rio Tranquilo. At one point I had to wonder if we would be able to make it in this runned down bus, but we did. It was colorful and the driver played music from the 80s and 90s, and the whole thing was just funny.

    Rio Tranquilo is very small, and there is not much to do here except for the marble caves and tours to glaciers. The beach and the lake here is beautiful, but today it was too cold to hang out here for a long time. My friend, Alex, will arrive tomorrow so we will do the caves together then. He volunteered in my favorite hostel, 13 Lunas, in Ancud.

    I ended up using couchsurfing to hangout with Jason and his friends in a lovely cabin with a lake view. Wine, interesting conversations, bonita vista and fire in the fireplace - pretty great evening!
    Read more