Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 56

    Loma del Pliegue Tumbado

    February 28, 2018 in Argentina ⋅ ⛅ 26 °C

    The wind was really crazy last night and this morning, and we were a bit unsure about if we should hike or not today. Loma del Pliegue Tumbado is a mountain, and it is very hard to hike there if the wind is too strong. We decided to start, and see if the wind would calm down.

    We got really lucky, as the wind was no problem at all when we got a bit up from the town. The hike was 10 km each way, and I could feel my legs were a bit tired from the last hikes. The last km was straight up the mountain side, and I am happy no one else understands norwegian swear words! But I have to say the hike was very good, with so much beautiful nature surroundings.

    The view when we got to the top was absolutely stunning! It is the best hike I’ve had until now. You have a 360 degree view of all the surroundings of El Chaltén. After staying a while at the top the wind started to build up. We decided to go down, and that was probably wise. The wind got really strong, and some places I just had to sit down on my butt so I shouldn’t fall.

    We got so lucky with the weather, if we would have started one hour later we couldn’t have reached the top. It also got very cloudy and started raining around the mountains after we left. The wind was so strong that we got rain drops on us when we was 10 km away from the mountains and the clouds. Quite a strange feeling when the sky above you is blue and clear.

    After the hike me and Sylvain went to La Vineria for a couple of hours, chatting with other people and enjoying some wine. I was pretty exhausted and went to bed early after a great day!
    Read more