Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 61

    Mirador Britanico

    March 5, 2018 in Chile ⋅ 🌧 26 °C

    Got up at 06 and started hiking at 06.30 with Nadav from Israel. We started early to be able to go all the way to Mirador Britanico and back to Paine Grande to catch the catemaran. The hike is 13 km each way and they told us it would take 10-11 hours.

    The first part of the hike was to Camp Italiano, a very easy and nice walk. It was dark when we started, so we got to see the sunrise over the mountains and lake. Between camp Italiano and up to the first mirador (Frances) it was very steep. The mirador was beautiful with the view of the french valley and a mountain with multiple small glaciers. The wind there was crazy strong, and it was not possible to stay for a long time. It almost knocked me down on my butt more than one time.

    The hike between mirador Frances to Britanico was not too bad, but some parts of it very windy. The best parts was when walking in a forest that could shield us a bit from the wind.

    Wind like today and yesterday is completely normal here, but we would definitely call it a storm and tell people to stay in back in Norway.

    When we reached mirador Britanico the view was stunning! 180 degree of mountains in front of you. We stayed up there for a while taking some pictures and enjoying the view. The walk back was exhausting, especially the steep parts was bad for the knees. My legs are not happy with all this hiking, and the knees are telling my quite loudely that they need a break from walking down all those steep hills. I will give it to them soon, just finishing the journey in Patagonia first.

    We arrived to our next destination by boat and bus: Camp Torre central. Here I am staying in a fixed tent for one night. I arrived for dinner, which was nice. Both today and yesterday was a three course meal. I am not going to use the terms «camping» for my stay in TDP. Luxury camping that must be. After dinner I had wine and played card with four chicos from Israel. They taught me a new card game, and we had a good time! I won the game - quick learner, or new beginners luck ;)

    It was a really great day, even though my legs are killing my right now. It was worth it! Tomorrow morning I will do my last hike in this park to the base of the towers, the most famous one here. I’ve heard it is quite steep and should take 8 hours roundtrip. Good luck to my legs - you can do this!!
    Read more