Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 65

    Isla Martillo

    March 9, 2018, South Atlantic Ocean ⋅ ☀️ -6 °C

    I went on a tour today with the company «Piratour». It is the most expensive of the pinguin tours, but the only company that offers the possibility to walk on the island.

    Luckily for me this other Norwegian girl from Bergen, Cathrine was going on the same trip. We met yesterday at the hostel, and it was nice to speak some norwegian again.

    The tours first stop was with the flag trees you can see in my last post. The wind can get up to 150 km/h here, which is crazy!!

    After that we went to a museum for sea mammols. It was really fascinating and cool to see all the huge sceletons.

    We went by boat to the pinguin island and saw a whale that was playing around on the way. Amazing sight!

    At the island we walked around and watched the cute little pinguins. We got very close, and one of them actually walked right over to my shoes. We got to see a emperor pinguin as well, it must have been lost because they are usually not in that area.

    After this we had a 2-3 hours lovely boatride with beautiful scenery down the beagle channel. We stoped at the famous lighthouse, a bird island and a sea lion island. I loved the last stop. They are so cool! Such a nice day, and I am glad I got to enjoy it with Cathrine!

    In the evening I cooked nachos for us and Sylvan and Patrick. Taco friday :D we had wine in the hostel, and it turned out to be an awesome night with a small disco and lots of fun. The hostel has so many nice people, I love the atmosphere here.
    Read more