Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 68

    Tierra del Fuego National Park

    March 12, 2018 in Argentina ⋅ ⛅ 8 °C

    I went on a hike in the national park today, and chose the trail «Guanaco» that is the hardest one. It is probably true, as the whole hike is very steep! It was challenging, but in a good way. As this was my last hike in Patagonia I decided to push my body and see how much my fitness level have improved since I arrived South America 2 months ago. I can really feel the change, which is nice! I walked quite fast for the whole trip, and the last 500 metres to the top was hard as my energy started to fade.

    The view from the top was breathtaking! This is definitely one of top three hikes in Patagonia for me. I loved it! At the top I could watch rainly clouds come closer, so I started the walk down together with a German guy. It didn’t take long before the hail hit us. The rapid change in the weather here still shocks me after 4 weeks. It was a nice and sunny day, and then suddenly you have hard and cold hail hitting your face.

    In the evening I went for empanadas.We have been using this empanada place almost every day. The empanadas is amazing!! I spent the night drinking wine and listening to amazing music with Cathrine, Matt and James. They are such good company.

    Tomorrow I will leave Ushuaia with a heavy heart after spending almost a week with some great people. I will miss them so much, especially Cathrine! Ushuaia has been amazing. I love the nature and all the hike possibilities here, and the people in the hostel was awesome.

    I only did two hikes here, wish I could do more. My legs are completely finished with hiking for a while, and the inflamation is painfull. I am glad I got to nice hikes, and I am so happy about my desicion to go to Ushuaia. The town in it self is not too nice, but the surrounding scenery is amazing.
    Read more