Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 90

    La Paloma

    April 3, 2018 in Uruguay ⋅ ⛅ 21 °C

    The day couldn't have started worse; with foodpoisoning and almost no sleep all night. My body was feeling exhausted and everything hurted. At 06 in the morning I ended up changing to a private room, to get some comfort and my own bathroom. I was suppose to go with a bus 07.30, but that was impossible. I was feeling really bad, and so much sorry for myself! In situations like this I think you are extra vunurable when traveling alone so far from home.

    After some hours in the hostel in Punta del Este without having to run to the bathroom anymore, I decided to stop feeling sorry for myself and get a new bus to La Paloma. I already booked a hostel there for the night. The owner of the hostel in Punta del Este was nice and did not charge me more for the 5 hours I spent in a private room. I checked out and got on a bus at 11 to Rocha. There I had to change to a new bus to La Paloma. The ride was not very pleasant, as I was still feeling very bad and my whole body acing.

    When I arrived at the bus station in La Paloma it started raining, and I didn't know if I should laugh or cry. I made my way to the hostel, and after short time the sun came out. I brought music and my camera and went for a walk for a couple of hours at the beach. It was very beautiful and peaceful, and just what I needed to cheer up. My mood changed, and I felt so much better. La Paloma is a charming small beach town. In high season there is a lot of people here, but the summer is over and it is very quite now.

    The hostel I stay in is called balconada beach hostel, and I really like it. It is right on the beach, and has a cozy common area. I have only booked one night here, and will see tomorrow if I stay more or go to Cabo Polonia. I have limited time left for Uruguay, as I take a bus to Florianopolis on Sunday.
    Read more