Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 10

    Colca Canyon Day I

    October 17, 2018 in Peru ⋅ ⛅ 15 °C

    After lousy WiFi for the last days, I finally have some working internet to overflow you with new pictures and updates.

    Starting from Arequipa, our next stop was the small village of Cabanaconde to start our trek into the Colca Canyon.
    Day I started early, since we did the tour without a guide and the other way around and therefore just had a rough idea on how long it would take us to our lodge.

    So we started the hike at 8 o‘clock in the morning and walked down for over 1000 meters and 2 hours straight . At the end, my thighs were shaking and I realized: going down is underestimated in terms of concentration and physical achievement.
    Our first stop was the beautiful oasis Sangalle, where we took a dip in a pool and had a little lunch (and I cuddled with a dog). So nice!
    Then we had to walk the canyon up and although the landscape was beautiful.... boy, it was hot and exhausting!! I kinda had like a little panic attack, because I was so out of breath. But I guess, sometime hiking is going to the maximum of your physical possibilities and realize, you can still make it to the top!
    Once we‘ve made it, the most beautiful part of our trek began. Really green and finally not that steep anymore!
    At 4 pm, we reached our lodge and were friendly welcomed. After a fantastic dinner we went to bed early to be ready for Day II.
    Read more