Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 15

    Uluwatu -> Gili Air

    January 7, 2020 in Indonesia ⋅ 🌧 28 °C

    Time to say goodbye to Fran 😭

    We both had flights in the morning and Fran’s left at 8.10 so we had to get up very early. 4.30 am early 😱. Lugged our luggage back up those steps, with the help of a man who worked there and into the taxi and at the airport by about 5.30. My flight wasn’t until 10.50 so I had a long wait!

    Said bye to Fran about 7 (I’ll see her in exactly 8 weeks in Koh Samui!) and then wandered over to the domestic terminal and checked in. Luggage was 15.8kg but got away with that extra 0.8 😊

    Flight was so quick and then I was met by Omar at the airport- I’d found him on tripadvisor as a tour guide/transfer with 5* reviews so booked him to take me. Probably the pricey way to do it but wasn’t ready yet to start haggling with taxis at airports etc! It also meant I got a private speedboat over to Gili Air which was lovely!

    Things I noticed/ Omar told me about Lombok (vs Bali)
    - so so so much less traffic. Roads are much better but so much quieter! Barely anyone on the road which is a very pleasant change to the gridlock on Bali
    - it’s mainly Muslim (vs Hindu) so lots of women in headscarfs and mosques around
    - no stray dogs but lots of cats all of whom seem much better looked after than the dogs on Bali!
    - just generally less touristy

    Arrived at my hostel to find I’m the only person in my 3 person dorm which is great! Had a quick wander and found a yoga place nearby so went back there for a 4.30 yoga class and then over to the west side of the island for sunset 👌🏻

    Found a nice place nearby for dinner and then crashed early- that 4.30am start was catching up with me!
    Read more