Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 41

    Komodo national park day 1

    February 2, 2020 ⋅ ⛅ 30 °C

    First day on the liveaboard- with a company called Wunderpus (they get amazing reviews online). It’s a ‘budget’ trip (still 755USD for 4 days) but that’s actually super good value when that include all food, accommodation, 12 dives and Komodo dragon visit. Quite punchy for me to do this when I’ve only just done my open water course but I wanted to do more diving and Komodo is supposed to be one of the best places in the world so I went for it!

    We met the boat at 7.45am- there are 6 of us so me, Manuel, Hidde, a kiwi called Laura and a Czech couple Jay and Zlata. We have two diving instructors, Ari and Dolin and 5 crew for the boat and looking after us. We set sail and got briefed and did our first dive about 10. It wasn’t my best dive, as the rest of the people are more experienced than me it was very quick getting ready and getting down which I found slightly stressful, but I did it and felt a little better by the end. For the second dive they split us into different groups- Hidde and I were together as we are the least experienced and we went with Ari. This time it was much better and I really enjoyed it.
    The third dive was absolutely amazing, we went to a spot called Mawan which is known for Manta Rays (it’s one of the main draws here) and we got to the ‘cleaning station’ (they come here for the small fish to clean them!) and so we sat on the bottom of the sand and watched them for like 15 minutes. It was amazing they came so close and they are so graceful, and huge!
    Fab end to the diving and then the boat moored in a secluded spot for us to have dinner and then sleep. We sleep on mattresses on the upper deck, which was pretty nice. Sleep by about 9.30 - everyone was knackered and we knew we would be up early tomorrow!
    Read more