Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 50

    Yogyakarta Day 1

    February 11, 2020 in Indonesia ⋅ 🌧 25 °C

    There are two main attractions just outside of Yogyakarta; a Buddhist temple called Borobudur which is the largest Buddhist temple in the world and a Hindu temple called Prambanan- which is second to Angor Wat. Yesterday I had chatted to the guys in the hostel and they had said they could take me to both over two days on a scooter. However when I got up- two German girls had arrived and were keen to go to see both in one day so I said we could do that and they took us all in the car they had.

    So we set off about 10am and headed to Borobodur first. Lots of people go here for sunrise, but I couldn’t face another 3am wake up, and the weather is a bit hit and miss so I’d already decided to give that a miss. We arrived about 11.30 and spent an hour there. It’s a really beautiful temple- not too big so you could walk around the whole thing in about 45 mins. I also had so many people asking me for photos as well, I now understand what it must be like to be a celebrity!

    We left there about 1pm and headed 10 minutes up the road to the chicken church. Yep it’s a church that is built in the shape of a chicken. Well actually it was supposed to be a dove but everyone says it looks more like a chicken. Google it for more info!!

    We then stopped off for lunch at a local Warung and then headed to Prambanan; another temple but this time a Hindu temple. It actually looks a little bit like Angkor Wat in style, though not as big. But equally beautiful. It started to rain while we were here which was actually quite nice as it meant everyone left so there were barely any people!

    Left here about 6 and back at 6.30. I had got chatting to a guy at Prambanan and he agreed to go to the night market later so I met him for dinner and we had a few beers around the Marliboro area- the main shopping street. Took a gojek back (the motorbike Uber equivalent)- I’m such a local now!
    Read more