Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 64

    KL -> Ao Nang (Krabi)

    February 25, 2020 in Thailand ⋅ ⛅ 31 °C

    Another day another flight (#sorrygreta)

    Flying to Krabi today, mainly because it was the least hassle least expensive way to get to Koh Samui/ Koh Tao where I am meeting Fran, holly and George. They don’t arrive for another week but after my diving in Indonesia I decided I wanted to get my advanced certificate which is another 3 days and Koh Tao is one of the best (and cheapest) places in Asia to dive. So going to go that before they arrive. Also helps that my ex-colleague Glyn has put my in touch with his brother who runs a dive shop so I’m getting mates rates too.

    Anyway cut a long story short means I have 3 nights in Krabi before a bus and ferry to Koh Tao on the 28th. Flight was at 1.30pm so I had plenty of time and took the bus to the airport. All easy and landed in Krabi at about 2pm (I’ve changed time zones again!) Took the bus to Ao Nang wherein staying- it’s on the beach, not the nicest beach, or town for that matter but it’s convenient and cheap! The scenery is beautiful- limestone cliffs and islands off the coast 🏝 ⛰. Slightly ruined by the Starbucks and macdonalds but hey ho.

    Checked in and then went for a walk around down to the beach. The beach is busy with longtail boats taking people to Railay beach which is the famous beach only accessible by boat 10 mins away. Lay on the beach for a while and watched the sunset which was pretty beautiful and then went for a Thai massage... forgot how painful these can be! She really went for it- walking on my back etc! Had dinner after and a Thai pancake in honour of pancake day and then went to bed about 10!
    Read more