Спутник
Показать на карте
  • День 14

    Singapore bureaucracy / Kampong Glam

    5 июня 2015 г., Сингапур ⋅ ⛅ 28 °C

    So today I "completed the formalities" of obtaining my student pass at the Immigration and Checkpoints Authority, which was an instructive lesson on how Singapore manages immigration. After paying my student pass fee at one of their eOutlets, I was directed to the building's 4th floor, where I was ushered through 7 different counters, each of which verified the dozen or so required documents I presented them without losing a single one. There were thumb scans, eye scans, more thumb scans...there was a peaceful sense of confidant organization amidst the chaos of hundreds of people waiting in queue. I was in and out in less than an hour and am now fully prepared for my stay in Singapore.

    After having some Char Kway Teow at a nearby hawker centre, I spent the evening strolling through Kampong Glam, the Arabic and Malay district. There I saw some of the most beautiful mosques and finest fabric stores I have seen thus far,the latter carrying everything from delicate cashmere scarves to soft silk robes and pyjamas. It was also the first area where I saw people smoking hookah on the outdoor patios of restaurants. The highlight though was walking down Bughis Street, where they had an open market where you could get nickle-and-dime-priced t-shirts, belts, wallets, watches, accessories and all sorts of trinkets. I think I'll definitely be going back there again, if only to try the Malay Muslim food.
    Читать далее