Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 16

    Shopping Centres on Orchard Road

    June 7, 2015 in Singapore ⋅ ⛅ 28 °C

    Today marked what most likely the end of my daily explorations as one of my supervisor's graduate students has contacted me and I'm going to start fabricating quantum LEDs tomorrow morning. As it was raining on and off I decided to visit Orchard Road, famous for its massive shopping centres. Until now I hadn't truly understood what people meant when describing Singapore as a giant mall. Although I didn't purchase anything, I had some of the best food yet in one of their food courts. I ate Xiang Ban Mian (soup) as well as a cold spicy noddle side dish and dumplings which were hand-rolled in front of me. A bit more pricey than the food in the hawker centres where I usually eat, this set meal was absolutely delicious and well worth the few extra dollars!

    After lunch the weather cleared up so I went a bit north to the Goodwood Hill area, where many diplomats and other government officials live. Although I was allowed to stroll in the neighbourhood, the guard said taking pictures of the houses (beautiful as they were) was strictly prohibited. I still took one, but only of a leaf (I know, living on the edge, right?). The rest of my afternoon was spent going through some more malls until I couldn't take it anymore and went home. So tomorrow will hopefully be the beginning of a great research internship, I'll make sure to keep you all posted!
    Read more