Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 17

    Internship Day 1: the real work begins

    June 8, 2015 in Singapore ⋅ ⛅ 29 °C

    This will likely be a short post since I didn't take any pictures of my labs or office. To be honest I was a bit apprehensive of how much work I was actually going to get done while I'm here, but boy when these guys finally got a hold of me they do not mess around. This research team I'm a part of has many projects lined up and with recent changes in their priorities I've been assigned to a new task for the time being. I have been told to keep the details confidential, but basically I'll be working on this new material with promising light and display applications. One thing I know for sure is that I'll be making a lot of devices so my solar cell research experience will surely come in handy, in fact it already has. I discussed the project with Daniele, one of my supervising professor's PhD students and the one who is spearheading this research initiative. We discussed the project's outlines and goals and I officially have my work cut out for me. Over lunch I also met Kiara, a girl from Italy doing her master's in industrial chemistry and also taking part in the NTU SRI, and Paula, her project leader and another of Prof. Soci's PhD students. They all seem very friendly and although I'm the only one who doesn't speak Italian, I'm sure I'll fit in just fine. As they say, ciao!Read more