Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 9

    Stuck in Madrid

    August 13, 2022 in Spain ⋅ ⛅ 25 °C

    So I think I'm onto Plan C😂😭going from Lisbon to Barcelona has been adventure. I had 6 train transfers all with about 15 min between and if I missed only one train, I wasn't going to make it on the last train from Madrid out to Barcelona at 8:30pm. From the start, one of my trains was 15 min delayed so I was RUNNING. Luckily the next train waited for us but then we were running to the next one and the next one. What a whirlwind. ALSO. Some trains require you to make reservations prior to getting on the train but in Spain, you cannot book online and it has to be done at a train station WITHIN Spain. I know, you guys already know where this is going. So I said yolo and just kept going and paying on the train (usually that doesn't work but we didn't have time during train transfers and they not so willingly allowed it). Absolutely flying by the seat of my pants. Luckily, I met Esta who was 17 and backpacking from Germany and we were both headed for the same last train. So we were in it together. Along the way we also started travelling with Yennick who was 20 and from Germany as well. #squad okay so we were SHOOK that we had made it on all the trains to Madrid. At one point I was looking up hostels in the local towns because I thought there was no way. So when we caught the second last train to Madrid, we were celebrating because there was an hour transfer between trains from Madrid to Barcelona. When we got to Madrid and arrived at the ticket office to reserve the train, THEY WERE FULLY BOOKED UNTIL THE MORNING!😭 Esta was able to get on because she was only on the train for a short period of time so they had space. So here's Yennick and I stuck in Madrid until the next train out at 8:30 Saturday morning. At this point we met a guy named Max from California who was 22 and in the same boat as us. So here were, booking a hostel together in Madrid!Read more