Satellite
Show on map
  • Day 21

    Chiang Rai day 1

    March 31 in Thailand ⋅ ☀️ 38 °C

    Chiang Rai is mainly known for its temples, so that's what I did today! There was a full day tour of all the sights, but the half day one in Pai tired me out, let alone a full day in 38° heat! so did this solo.
    Was up and out the hostel by 8 to beat the crowds and weather. First stop was Rong Suea Ten Temple, nicknamed the blue temple, as every building and statue was a vibrant shade of blue. It was quite small, but the blue and gold looked gorgeous in the morning sun.
    I then ventured over to Wat Rong Khun, the white temple, arguably one of the most famous temple complexes in Thailand. It was pretty specular, the white buildings were accented with pieces of mirror, making them sparkle in the sunlight. It was also one of the quirkier temples with artistic aspects and decorations, not just religious. Inside the main hall, you weren't allowed to take photos, but painted on the back wall amongst a Buddhist mural were small cartoons like pokemans, superheroes or characters from films which was really cool. The temple complex also included a gold exhibition temple, a cave full of sculptures, plus several art galleries and collections. I was so glad I got there early, as I was leaving the main temple was swarmed with people.
    Next stop was the Baan Dan museum, or the Black House. It was an area full of 40 black houses varying in shape and size, each displaying sculptures, artwork and artifacts. It was curated by a guy called Thawan Duchanee, over 40 years. Was a little bizarre, but interesting to wander round.
    In the evening I visited Wat Huay Pla Kang, which had several temples and a 90 metre statue of Guanyin, the Chinese Goddess of Mercy. Although the sunset wasn't spectacular, the lighting was so nice.
    Though it wasn't expensive to get around today, I do wish I could drive a scooter as it would've been a third of the price to drive, compared to getting scooter taxis, which is a little annoying. I just need to make more friends that can drive aha.
    The heat from the day absolutely knackered me out, so sat in my hostel watching the footy (Arsenal Vs Chelsea women cup final), which Arsenal won, whoop whoop!
    Read more